Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Buttercream

Buttercream is an interesting mixture. I’ve got a terrific recipe from Wilton that I’ve tweaked a little to make it more appealing. I so remember the first batch I made; it was horribly SWEET, because, ok, I’d doubled the vanilla extract. (Hey, I like vanilla, all right?) But it was just awful, and I ended up pitching it. That was when we were taking our first Wilton cake class at the local JoAnn Fabric store in Citrus Heights.

So now, I’ve got it down to a science and can almost make it from memory. You have to be careful and watch it while it’s in the mixing bowl (Thank HEAVENS for our wonderful Cuisinart stand mixer!) so you know just when to add the next ingredient. Like I said, my most recent frosting was orange-flavored, and it really made the chocolate cupcake taste stand out very nicely.

I think my second favorite would have to be lemon. Odd, though. I grew up never really caring for lemon, as it always reminded me of lemon Pledge, and the only “lemonade” I liked was the Kool-Aid brand. I’ve got a recipe for lemon cupcakes that our friend Drea refers to as “lemon clouds”, as the mini-cupcakes are as light as a cloud and just melt in your mouth.

Leave a Reply

